Student of the Month

Each month during the academic year (September-May), the history department honors one undergraduate history major or minor as the Student of the Month. All previous winners are eligible for the department's Student of the Year award. Beginning with the 2015-2016 academic year, the Student of the Year winner will receive the Dr. Paul E. Isaac History Award, a cash prize made possible through the generosity of Mrs. Nancy C. Isaac. Dr. Isaac spent most of his career as a history professor at LU.

Ashley Thibodeaux

May 2017

Ashley Thibodeaux is a 2013 graduate of West Brook High School and a history minor. A McNair Scholar, she serves as assistant editor for Pulse, LU's student literary magazine, and is a member of Sigma Tau Delta English Honor Society.


April 2017: Jacob Melancon
March 2017: Caitlin McAlister
February 2017: Rebecca Butler

Dec. 2016/Jan. 2017: Miles Block

November 2016: Taylor Blount

October 2016: Colby Almendarez
September 2016: Ryan Romero


May 2016: Rachel Simmons
April 2016: Chrystal Jones

March 2016: Seth Barrett

February 2016: Candyce Crouch

Dec. 2015/Jan. 2016: LaKeisha Fontenot
November 2015: Bryce Barrett

October 2015: Tammy Byerly

September 2015: Kendrick D. Williams


May 2015: Ednesha Cook
April 2015: Morgan B. Williams

March 2015: Suzanne Williamson

February 2015: Jacob Gorton

Dec. 2014/Jan. 2015: Emma Nelson

November 2014: Tyler Linder
October 2014: Zachary Defrancis*
September 2014: Adrian G. Morgan


May 2014: Judith Nelams*
April 2014: Cheree Simon
March 2014: Alecia Ross
February 2014: Cody Dailey
Dec. 2013/Jan. 2014: Zachary Defrancis
November 2013: Benjamin Bonsall
October 2013: Tyler Quibodeaux
September 2013: Emily Kosh

*denotes History Department Student of the Year award winner.