Your Future Begins Today

Images of students in classrooms

Interim Dean Joe NordgrenAs the largest and most inclusive academic unit within the university, the College of Arts and Sciences contributes significantly to the cultural and academic characteristics that distinguishes Lamar as a Member of the Texas State University System. Our programs perform at the highest levels with constant enthusiasm for excellence. Read more about the college...



Nominations and applications are being solicited for the 2016 Texas State University System Regents' Professor Award. This prestigious and valuable System-wide award is open to all full-time faculty who hold the rank of Professor, meet all guidelines for TSUS Regents' Professor, and who:

  • hold the Lamar title of Regents' or University Professor or
  • have been named a University Scholar by Lamar or
  • have been named a University Distinguished Faculty Lecturer by Lamar or
  • have been nominated by his/her college for the University Professor award
  • or have won a major professional award in his/her discipline. (Note: Criteria for defining major professional award will be decided by the colleges nominee selection committee. The case for major professional award must be made by the applicant or person nominating, the chair, and the dean of the college.)

To be considered at the college and university levels, nominees must submit a portfolio and current vitae (i.e., the dossier) as described in the TSUS Foundation guidelines (link below).

The College of Arts and Sciences nominees are due in Dr. Kevin Smith's office by March 1, 2016.

Please note that faculty who hold the title of TSUS Regents' Professor are ineligible to serve on college or university committees or be nominated for a second award, since they are involved in the System-wide selection process. For more information, deadlines, and application requirements, see:

New Lamar University Eligibility Criteria for Nomination as a Candidate for TSUS Regents' Professor

Texas State University System TSUS Regents' Professor Award Guidelines and Criteria

Latest News and Events

National History Day competition

The Department of History will host its seventh annual National History Day regional competition on February 11, 2016.  Read more.

Jeff Forret

Forret wins PROSE award

Professor of History, Jeff Forret, won the 2016 American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence (PROSE) for his book Slave against Slave: Plantation Violence in the on South.  Read more

Kumer Das

Das receives award from SIGMAA on Statistics Education

Associate professor of statistics, Kumer Das, was granted the Robert V. Hogg Award for Excellence in Teaching Introductory Statistics by the Special interest Group of the Mathematical Association of America on Statistics Education. Read more.

Lamar Literary Festival Series sponsors readings

The Department of English and Modern Languages, Lamar Literary Press, and the Office of the Provost will sponsor readings by fiction writers, Elizabeth Harris and Lisa Sandlin, as a part of the Lamar Literary Festival Series. Read more.

Kelli Creel

Beck Fellow to conduct research in England

Beck Fellowship finalist and pre-dental Biology major, Kelli Creel, will be going to the University of York in Heslington, England this summer to conduct research with two world-class scholars on the microbial communities entrapped in dental tartar obtained from ancient Roman skeletons. Read more.

Jeff Forret

Forret awarded Cromwell Fellowship

Jeff Forret, professor of history, has been awarded the William Nelson Cromwell Foundation Research Fellowship for continued work on his book, Williams' Gang: A Slave Trader, His Cargo, and Justice in the Old SouthRead more.

Cade Johnson

Biology major, Cade Johnson, selected for Beck Fellowship

Cade Johnson, a double major in biology and exercise science, i one of two undergraduate recipients of the Beck Fellowship.  Read more.

Students present at Texas Undergraduate Math Conference

Several Lamar University students recently attended the 11th annual Texas Undergraduate Math Conference hosted by the University of Texas at Tyler.  Read more.

Computer science poster winners

Computer science students tie for first

Two students from the Department of Computer Science, James Wilson and Bharatkumar Tejwani, both won first prize at the Student Poster Contest during the Association for Computer Educators in Texas (ACET) conference.   Read more.

Keeley Townley-Smith

LU's Townley-Smith named TSUS Regents' Student Scholar

Lamar University senior Keeley Townley-Smith has been named Texas State University System Regents' Student Scholar.   Read more.

Kumer Das

Das honored with Rogers Community Service Award

Kumer Das, associate professor of mathematics and director of the Lamar University Office of Undergraduate Research, will be honored with Lamar University's 2015 Julie and Ben Rogers Community Service Award.   Read more.